Jul 24, 2017 | 0 comments

Monday, 17th April 2017 would remain evergreen in the history of Lagelu Grammar School Old Boys Association as members of the National Executive Council and some Set leaders were hosted by the Chairman, Lagelu Grammar School Governing Board, Chief Adebayo Adekola Adelabu, FCA.

The National President, Prof. Chief Olufemi Omisore, FNITP who led the team to the meeting congratulated Chief Adebayo Adelabu on his appointment as the Chairman, School Governing Board (SGB). He thanked the Governor of Oyo State, Sen. Dr. Abiola Ajimobi for the choice of our own Adebayo Adelabu as our SGB Chairman. Said he, “the time to return the school to her old glory is now and all hands must be on deck to achieve this. Lagelu Grammar School must wear a new look in terms of academic and infrastructural development and together, we shall achieve this”. He further stated that activities to mark the 60th Anniversary of the School has begun with the setting up of the Anniversary Committee under the Chairmanship of Mr. Tony Aletor. He finally pledged a synergy between the SGB and the National Executive Council to move the School forward.

Responding, the Chairman, Lagelu Grammar School Governing Board, Chief Adebayo Adelabu, FCA thanked the National President, Prof. Olufemi Omisore and his team for taking out time to pay him a visit. He said his appointment was not only for him but for the entire Lagelites as the assignments ahead were for everybody and must be jointly pursued. According to him, “my passion for a new Lagelu Grammar School is to have a rebranded school and setting a standard. I shall work with other eminent old boys to move the school to greater heights and set a good foundation as the Chairman. Very soon, work shall commence on a new administrative building for the school.” Speaking further,he said “the 500 million CBN intervention fund shall be released soon once the CBN Board is inaugurated”. He appreciated his appointment as a member of the 60th Anniversary Committee and donated a sum of five hundred thousand Naira (N500,000) as an opening balance for the 60th anniversary purse. A friend to him, Ahmed Adepoju equally supported with a hundred thousand naira (N100,000) at the occasion.

The National President, Prof. Chief Olufemi Omisore, had on his entourage the 2nd Deputy National President, Dr. Duro Ogunsesan; National Secretary, Comrade Wale Adeoye; National Assistant Secretary, Mr. Yemi Badru; National P.R.O, Oladele Moses; Financial Secretary, Steve Akadiri; Treasurer, Engr. Lukman Olateju; Welfare Officer, Mr. Kayode Olunloyo; Social Secretary, Engr. Ademola Junaid; Auditor, Pastor Joshua Adebayo and the Chief Whip, Dr. Tope Afolabi. Other eminent old boys on the team included Fmr. National Assistant Secretary, Barr. Akinsola Ige; Fmr. National Social Secretary, Leye Adeniran; Secretary, 1987 Set, Mr. Ibukun Ogunniran; Otunba Olawale Oke Olagunju, Chairmen of various sets and hosts of distinguished alumni.

In the spirit of Easter celebration, the Agbaakin Parakoyi of Ibadanland, Chief Adebayo Adelabu, treated the LAGSOBA team to a sumptuous lunch.


Click on the Image for a larger view.

(Source: Oladele Moses, National Public Relations Officer)